Welcome to The 12th International Conference on Permafrost
Language: 简体中文 English
Submission Instructions
Advances in measurement and modeling of frozen soil hydraulic and thermal properties: What’s new?

Advances in measurement and modeling of frozen soil hydraulic and thermal properties: What’s new? 

Hailong He#*1, Miles Dyck2, Yuki Kojima3


1.Northwest A&F University, Yangling, Shaanxi, 712100 China hailong.he@nwafu.edu.cn

2.University of Ablerta, Edmonton AB T6G2H1 Canada

3.Gifu University, 1‐1 Yanagido, Gifu City, Gifu 501-1193, Japan


Soil hydraulic and thermal properties (e.g., soil water, water retention characteristics, hydraulic conductivity, water diffusivity, thermal conductivity, and thermal diffusivity) are key parameters for coupled water and heat transport in the cold and arid regions. A variety of tools including heat pulse method, TDR, thermo-TDR, thermo-FDR, heat pulse-matric potential sensor, active and passive distributed temperature sensing (DTS), and geophysical and remote sensing techniques have advanced the measurement of these parameters at increased accuracy and ease of use or at larger scales. While modelling of these properties is required by numerical studies, the past few years have witnessed the development of new algorithms with increased accuracy and wider application because of the new measurement techniques and modelling skill such as machine learning. In this session we invite contributions that focus on advances of measurement techniques and modelling methods of soil hydraulic and thermal properties. Contributions investigate quantitative linkage between these properties are highly encouraged.

Please click the below button  to download the template of the abstract  and  upload  your own abstract

Contact Us

Email: icop2020@lzb.ac.cn

Address: Northwest Institute of Eco-Environment and Resources,CAS Lanzhou, P.R.China

Secretary General: Professor Fujun Niu


Professor Guoyu Li Professor Zhi Wen Professor Mingyi Zhang Ms. Yanmei Han Dr. Yanhu Mu Dr. Ze Zhang Dr. Zhanju Lin Dr. Guanli Jiang Dr. Jianfeng Zheng